Acknowledging the support we've had from the beginning

Along the way, newDemocracy has benefited from the generous support and commitment of former staff, board members, research committee members, volunteers and early movers who gave up their time and proselytised our cause. This page is an acknowledgement of that support.

Previous Research Committee Members

  • The Hon John Button – Senator for the State of Victoria (1974-1993), Leader of the successive Hawke and Keating Labour Governments in the Senate and Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce.
  • The Hon Fred Chaney AO – Senator for the State of Western Australia Federal Senator (1974-1990). Leader of the Opposition in the Senate from 1983 to 1990 and a member for Pearce in the House of Representatives from 1990 to 1993. Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Social Security and Minister Assisting the Minister for National Development and Energy.
  • The Hon Nicholas Greiner AC – Consul-General in the United States of America, New York, former Premier of New South Wales (1988-1992) and former Federal President of the Liberal Party of Australia (2017-2020).
  • Laura Tingle – Chief political correspondent of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's 7.30 current affairs television program and was previously the political editor of Australian Financial Review.
  • David Yencken – Chair of the Australia Heritage Commission (1975–1981), Secretary (Chief Executive) of the Ministry for Planning and Environment for the Victorian Government (1982-87).


Previous Board Members

  • Malcolm Ian Marsh – Author of Beyond the Two Party System in 1995 and Democratic Decline and Democratic Renewal in 2012.

Previous Staff and Volunteers

  • Georgina Inwood
  • Joan Donoghue
  • Catherine Baldwin
  • Nivek Thompson
  • Vickianne Lane
  • Wendy Hu

Friends from the beginning

  • Percy Allan AM
  • Patricia Azarias
  • Glenn Barnes
  • The Hon Rob Borbidge AO
  • Graham Bradley AM
  • John Brogden
  • John Della Bosca
  • John Dryzek
  • Archon Fung
  • John Gastil
  • Zareh Ghazarian
  • Remo Giuffre
  • The Hon David Hamill AM
  • David Hinchliffe
  • Peter Hunt AM
  • John Kaye
  • Cheryl Kernot
  • Matt Leighninger
  • Peter Levine
  • Jane Mansbridge
  • The Hon Campbell Newman AO
  • The Hon Peter Shergold AC FRSN
  • Graham Smith
  • Tim Soutphommasane
  • Allegra Spender
  • Mark Tedeschi AM KC
  • Peter Vermeersch
  • Jennifer Westacott AO
  • Stuart White